Courgette, watercress, feta and pomegranate salad

IMG_20130827_164140

Isn’t this pretty?!

I can assure you it tastes pretty darn good too. I served this up on Saturday night while hosting my first ever ‘grown-up’ (it wasn’t…) dinner party hosted at the boyfriend’s house. Anyway, I was so excited to cook for a group of 9 friends,  some that I hadn’t seen in months. I chose easy (relatively), summery food that both looked and tasted amazing. To start, a selection of bruschetta (avocado tomato and basil; grilled red onion and goats cheese; and prosciutto, parmesan, rocket and balsamic). To follow I roasted two chickens ‘Greek-style’ with loads of lemon, garlic and oregano, and served them with herb and olive roasted new potatoes, tzatziki and the above salad. And to finish, good old choccy mousse!

I don’t want to bore you with everything I did but will just give you the recipe for the salad. If you want to know how I made anything else just leave me a comment and I’d be more than happy to share.

For the salad: 

Courgettes, thinly sliced with a knife
Watercress
Pomegranate seeds (use a prepared packet if you like)
Feta, crumbled

For the dressing (more than enough for my salad which served 9, as a side):

Juice of a lemon
1 tbsp cumin seeds, toasted
8 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

– Grill the courgette slices on a griddle/skillet/grill/whateveryoucallit pan, so you get nice charred lines.

– Place on a bed of watercress, sprinkle with the pomegranate seeds and crumbled feta.

– Toast cumin seeds in a dry pan until aromatic and grind in pestle and mortar to further release their flavour. Add to the lemon juice and olive oil, season and whisk until combined.

– Pour over salad. Eat.

Here are some photos of the rest of the dinner party if you’d like a gander! It’s come to my attention that taking photos on my phone is a blogger no-no. BUT I have no choice – apologies! When I am employed I will save for a decent camera, promise.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Courgette, watercress, feta and pomegranate salad

  1. ostriche says:

    Really pretty! 🙂 Ostriche

  2. Alyssa says:

    Wow, beautiful salad! And your menu sounds fantastic,

Leave a Reply

