Idiot-proof lunch ideas

These are a few things things I’ve made recently which I feel don’t quite deserve their own post but nonetheless deserve a little bit of recognition (aww…). Lunchtimes tend to be a quick and easy affair in our house – soup, sandwiches, salads and leftovers. So here are a few quick and easy lunch ideas, not full recipes, designed to get your creative juices flowing.

Smoked mackerel, spring onion and crème fraîche jacket potato 

Bake potato. Cut in half, scoop innards into a bowl being careful not to break the skin. To the bowl add a dollop of crème fraîche, chopped spring onion and flaked smoked mackerel. Season, mix and fill the empty skins. Spinkle with cheese and grill! Serve with salad.

Bacon, avocado and blue cheese salad

This is one of my favourites. I absolutely LOVE cheese, it means everything to me. I like ALL cheese, but am particularly partial to a good, ripe, stinking blue. I also adore avocado in all shapes and form (avocado on toast is a bloody delish brekky), and who doesn’t like bacon. Don’t ruin with a crappy ready-made dressing, please.

Anyway; cut bacon, fry until crispy. Add bacon, avocado, spring onions and tomatoes to green salad leaves. Add a few chunks of your favourite blue cheese. Dress (my go-to dressing is made by whisking the juice of 1/2 lemon with 4 tbsp olive oil, tsp honey and tsp Dijon mustard).

Rare roast beef, pomegranate and parmesan salad

This is a man salad if ever I made one. It was an awesome way to make use of some left over roast beef fillet that had been beautifully cooked the night before. The addition of pomegranate was a risky one but I definitely pulled it off, adding a nice sweetness that combined awesomely with the nuttiness of the parmesan. Add some spring onion and tomatoes too if ya fancy. Dress with good olive oil and balsamic and season.

Just to reiterate how much I love cheese, here was my lunch for today. It required adding all of the wonderful cheeses I had in my fridge (cheddar, brie, St Agur and tallegio) to lettuce, fresh mint and basil, tomato, onion and dressing. Taxing hey?

Nom, nom, cheese, nom.

I will keep snapping my lunches and will probably do another one of these posts soon!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

